Thomas More Clinches Share of PAC Regular Season With Win at Thiel

Thomas More Clinches Share of PAC Regular Season With Win at Thiel

(GREENVILLE, Pa.) – The Thomas More College wrestling team clinched a share of the Presidents' Athletic Conference regular season tonight (Friday, February 3, 2017) as it defeated Thiel College, 24-17, at Beeghly Gymnasium in Greenville, Pennsylvania.

Saints finished the PAC dual season with a 2-1 record to win a share of the regular season in the first year of the program.  It also marks the 53rd PAC regular season title that Thomas More as at least shared since joining the PAC in 2005.  With the loss, the Tomcats drop to 0-3 against PAC opponents.

Thomas More open the evening with three-straight wins as first-year Cody Shultz (Taylor Mill, Ky./Scott) had a 3-0 decision win at 125, first-year John Shirkey (Erlanger, Ky./LaSalle (Ohio)) earned a 14-1 major decision win and at 141 first-year Aaron Cox (Ross, Ohio/Ross) had a 6-0 decision win.

The Saints then had an 18-2 technical fall win at 174 by first-year Andrew Taylor (Cincinnati, Ohio/Elder) and first-year Avery Jones (Amelia, Ohio/Glen Este) had a pin in 5:48 at 184.  First-year Ahmad Hameidan (Florence, Ky./Bonne County) clinched the win for the Saints with a 3-0 decision win at 285.

Thomas More returns to the mat tomorrow when it competes at the 31st Annual John Summa Invitational hosted by Baldwin Wallace University inside the Higgins Center Fieldhouse in Berea, Ohio.

Friday, Feb. 3, 2017
Greenville, Pa. (Beeghly Gymnasium)
Thomas More 24, Thiel 17

125 – Cody Shultz (TMC) dec. Guilano Graziosi, 3-0 [TMC 3-0]
133 – John Shirkey (TMC) maj. dec. Justin Vincent Mion, 14-1 [TMC 7-0]
141 – Aaron Cox (TMC) dec. Justin Walter, 6-0 [TMC 10-0]
149 – Jason Miller (T) dec. Kolin McAlpine, 9-2 [TMC 10-3]
157 – Austin Bonacci (T) maj. dec. Tristin Badida, 18-7 [TMC 10-7]
165 – Chris Nus (T) maj. dec. Matthew Munoz, 12-4 [THI 11-10]
174 – Andrew Taylor (TMC) tech fall Cam Cianci, 18-2 (2:38) [TMC 15-11]
184 – Avery Jones (TMC) pinned Cody Ellis, 5:48 [TMC 21-11]
197 – Gage Gladysz (T) pinned John Butler, 2:40 [TMC 21-17]
285 – Ahmad Hameidan (TMC) dec. Alex Streich, 3-0 [TMC 24-17]