Saints Go 2-1 at Gator "Boots" Duals

Saints Go 2-1 at Gator "Boots" Duals

(NASHVILLE, Tenn.) – The Thomas More College wrestling team went 2-1 today (Saturday, December 16, 2017) at the Gator "Boots" Duals hosted by Luther College at McGavock High School in Nashville, Tennessee.

Thomas More defeated the University of Ozarks, 28-19, in the first match of the day.  Sophomore Parker Buschelman (Harrison, Ohio/Harrison) won by a 9-3 decision at 141.  First-year Jimmy Traub (Cincinnati, Ohio/Sycamore) had a pin in 2:19 at 157, sophomore Andrew Taylor (Cincinnati, Ohio/Elder) had a 4-2 decision at 174, sophomore Avery Jones (Amelia, Ohio/Glen Este) had a pin in 6:23 at 184 and sophomore James Caniglia (Loveland, Ohio/Loveland) had a pin in 6:51 at 197.  Sophomore Ahmad Hameidan (Florence, Ky./Boone County) earned an 11-3 major decision at 285.

In the second match of the day, the Saints fell 32-9 to the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh.  First-year Jimmy Murphy (Milford, Ohio/Milford) had a forfeit win at 125 and Buschelman had a 4-2 sudden victory at 141.

Thomas More defeated Alma College, 32-12, in its final match of the day.  Murphy had a 3-2 decision at 125 and first-year Brady Wells (Alexandria, Ky./Campbell County) registered a 10-4 decision at 133.  Traub had a 19-2 technical fall in 4:20 at 157 and first-year Gunnar Dawson (Madison, Ohio/Madison) had a pin in 4:10 at 165.  Taylor earned a 7-4 decision at 174, Jones hada  pin in 1:00 at 184 and Caniglia had a forfeit win at 197.

The Saints are idle until January 6 when they travel to Waynesburg, Pennsylvania to compete at the Waynesburg University Invitational.

Thomas More 28, University of Ozarks 19
125  Devon Jackson (U of O) over Brady Wells (TMC) (Fall 4:03)
133  Corey Muniz (U of O) over Kenny Byers (TMC) (MD 12-0)
141  Parker Buschelman (TMC) over Durrell Thompson (U of O) (Dec 9-3)
149  Ny`Trell Dean (U of O) over Andrew Tevis (TMC) (Fall 0:16)
157  Jimmy Traub (TMC) over Russell Miller (U of O) (Fall 2:19)
165  Eli Guardiola (U of O) over Gunnar Dawson (TMC) (Dec. 7-2)
174  Andrew Taylor (TMC) over Tracey Eitel (U of O) (Dec 4-2)
184  Avery Jones (TMC) over Alejandro Ordonez (U of O) (Fall 6:23)
197  James Caniglia (TMC) over Cameron Barnes (U of O) (Fall 6:51)
285  Ahmad Hameidan (TMC) over Evan Sharpe (U of O) (MD 11-3)

UW-Oshkosh 32, Thomas More 9
125  Jimmy Murphy (TMC) over Unknown (For.)                                               
133  Wesam Alabed (UW-O) over Kenny Byers (TMC) (MD 19-8)
141  Parker Buschelman (TMC) over Dellas Vandenberg (UW-O) (SV-1 4-2)
149  Corey Knudsesn (UW-O) over Andrew Tevis (TMC) (MD 14-3)
157  Mark Choinski (UW-O) over Jimmy Traub (TMC) (Dec 7-2)
165  Oscar Ramos (UW-O) over Gunnar Dawson (TMC) (TF 18-1 4:10)
174  Husam Alabed (UW-O) over Andrew Taylor (TMC) (Fall 4:52)
184  Colten Cashmore (UW-O) over Avery Jones (TMC) (Dec 8-1)
197  Jordan Lemcke (UW-O) over James Caniglia (TMC) (Dec 3-0)
285  Michael Dunlap (UW-O) over Ahmad Hameidan (TMC) (MD 14-2)  

Thomas More 32, Alma 12
125  Jimmy Murphy (TMC) over Austin Wieczorek (Alma) (Dec 3-2)  
133  Brady Wells (TMC) over Aaron Parr-Besemer (Alma) (Dec 10-4)
141  Brendan Ladd (Alma) over Parker Buschelman (TMC) (Fall 2:08)
149  Jacob Anderson (Alma) over Cody Roland (TMC) (Dec 15-9)        
157  Jimmy Traub (TMC) over Grayson Richter (Alma) (TF 19-2 4:20) 
165  Gunnar Dawson (TMC) over Richard Scroggins (Alma) (Fall 4:10)               
174  Andrew Taylor (TMC) over Austin Fox (Alma) (Dec 7-4) 
184  Avery Jones (TMC) over Wesley Barnes (Alma) (Fall 1:00)            
197  James Caniglia (TMC) over Unknown (For.)         
285  Austin Popp (Alma) over Joseph Marino (TMC) (Dec 5-0)